“Textgrid” project develops digital infrastructure to allow humanities researchers and scientists to collaborate globally on massive datasets

by Dr. Torsten Reimer, Programme Manager, Digital Infrastructure
Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC), London

Musty archives, dusty libraries – traditionally the natural habitat of humanities researchers, whilst scientists do their research in high-tech labs, or on supercomputers designed to simulate the world. Humanities researchers seem to be content with a book-covered study that looks as if a typewriter has only just lost its last stand against a laptop there. This may be the popular way to imagine how these disciplines work.

But now it’s time to imagine new ways of working. Let’s imagine that different humanities disciplines and librarians join forces to build their own digital tools, similar to the simulators of the climatologists or astronomers. Can we also imagine that they reinvent their study rooms and libraries in virtual space, in order to share their research with colleagues all over the world? How about that they are using the latest technology to achieve this, technology that is usually reserved for particle physicists or computer scientists? Believe it or not, all of this is exactly what the German “TextGrid” project has been doing for the past few years.

“TextGrid” uses a technology that has been developed to answer some of the biggest questions of humankind: grid computing. Astronomers are using giant telescopes to find the origins of the universe in space; physicists use the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) to find them in Switzerland; and biologists decode the human genome on supercomputers. All of them create gigantic amounts of data. The LHC, for instance, generates 15 petabytes per year – that equals more than 7 trillion pages of text. Grid technology has been developed to store, analyse and share this gigantic amount of data with research groups all over the world. The technology allows researchers to connect computers and data and to run complex parallel analyses on distributed computer networks, no matter where their physical location might be.

“TextGrid” uses this architecture to enable researchers to jointly research our cultural heritage. The humanities now, too, needs a large-dataset solution, making “TextGrid” a timely innovation. The amount of data created, for instance, through text digitisation is now growing dramatically. Through databases, we already have access hundreds of thousands of ancient inscriptions, medieval manuscripts and modern prints. Libraries and companies such as Google continue to digitise millions of books.

The potential of Internet technologies and digitisation of cultural heritage goes beyond giving us easy access to the world’s archives, museums and libraries directly from our homes. Online projects such as Wikipedia demonstrate how the Internet can be used for collaboration across the globe. Researchers are increasingly using these technologies to jointly conduct new research in virtual space. The vision behind these Virtual Research Environments is to make it easy to give specialists access to the data and tools they need to solve problems. The German Research Foundation (DFG) and the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) fund such virtual environments to facilitate research collaboration across international and discipline boundaries.

In order to make this vision a reality, researchers, data and technological infrastructure have to be brought together. Funded by the BMBF, the pilot project “TextGrid” is working to achieve exactly that. Since 2006, ten German research institutions are working together to develop a Virtual Research Environment for the Humanities. The main focus is the distributed research on text, text ranging from 18th century encyclopaedia to rare manuscripts and digital music editions. Grid computing makes it possible to bring together this ever-increasing amount of data and to give researchers the tools they need to collaboratively work on these materials.

Virtual Research Environments like “TextGrid” enable us to find new answers to old questions – or to even ask entirely new questions. The automatic comparison of thousands of texts, for instance, makes it much easier to find out where authors got their inspiration from or how ideas spread across the globe. Philologists can more systematically research how language has developed, and it becomes easier to go beyond elite culture and analyse the mass of popular writings. But “TextGrid” does much more than allowing individual researchers to search through large corpora of text. It also makes it possible to collaboratively work on and edit texts, opening up new possibilities for scholarly editions. According to Professor Fotis Jannidis from the University of Würzburg, visualisation, as it is supported by “TextGrid”, is a key technology in this context:

“With a click of the mouse, the reader can now decide which versions of a text they want to see in the digital environment. They can display annotations and text variants or select a dynamic display that puts different version right in front of their eyes. Visualisation is one of the big opportunities of digital editions.”

Digital editions allow experts from different countries to synchronously collaborate on decoding difficult text passages, while other colleagues work on teaching the meaning of texts to computers. This makes it possible to, for example, perform a search over historical texts to find mentions of a place, no matter whether its current or historical place name is used. It also allows automatic linking of the name of a person to their biography, so that researchers can get further information on the person or verify who they actually are.

In an environment such as “TextGrid” data itself becomes a tool, as Professor Andrea Rapp from the Technical University Darmstadt explains:

“Working with a literary text can, for instance, lead to the question of whether a certain word is used specifically by this poet, and whether its use is regionally limited or very widespread. Interlinked dictionaries can give me answers to those questions. In this way data created by one researcher can become a new tool for another one. The prerequisite for this is a critical mass, though.”

“TextGrid” will not only make this critical mass available: it will also provide the environment in which such research questions can be answered. Findings can also be published within the tool and will be preserved for later use.

Making data, tools and research findings available online also makes it easier to bring together experts from other disciplines to answer tricky questions. Even today, physicists, librarians, computer scientists, linguists and other researchers work together to build Virtual Research Environments like “TextGrid”. In the future, this infrastructure will enable them to collaboratively break new ground in answering research problems. This interdisciplinary working is one of the most important reasons why the DFG funds such projects, as programme director Dr Sigrun Eckelmann explains:

“Lately, we’ve started to see collaborative projects encompassing disciplines who did not previously interact much with each other, such as linguists and biologists or climatologists and historians. This is now possible and it constitutes a substantial qualitative change.”

Libraries play a key role in the development of these projects, as Dr Heike Neuroth from the University of Göttingen emphasises:

“Projects such as “TextGrid” allow us to better understand how research is conducted in particular disciplines so that we can best support them with tools and data. This is, of course, not a new mission for research libraries but has a tradition developed over millennia. In today’s knowledge and information society, this mission is supplemented by the new technologies. Providing and preserving books for research use will certainly continue to be a task for libraries.”

Back to press kit …

About Dr. Torsten Reimer

Dr. Torsten Reimer works as a program manager at the Digital Infrastructure
Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC), London.

Jenseits von Schreibmaschine und Laptop – Mit TextGrid beschreiten Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften neue Wege der Forschung im Informationszeitalter

Muffige Archive, staubige Bibliotheken? Sieht so der natürliche Lebensraum von Geisteswissenschaftlern aus, während Naturwissenschaftler in Hightech-Laboren forschen oder mit Supercomputern mal eben die Welt simulieren? Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaftlern scheint ein buchbedecktes Arbeitszimmer auszureichen, dem man noch ansieht, wo die Schreibmaschine ihr letztes Gefecht gegen den Laptop verloren hat. So stellen wir uns das vielleicht gerne vor.

Können wir uns aber auch vorstellen, dass sich verschiedene Disziplinen der Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften sowie wissenschaftliche Bibliothekare zusammenschließen, um selbst ein digitales Instrument analog zu den Simulatoren der Klimaforscher oder Astronomen zu bauen? Dass sie ihre Arbeitszimmer und Bibliotheken im virtuellen Raum neu erfinden, um mit Kollegen weltweit gemeinsam forschen zu können? Und dass sie dabei modernste Technologien nutzen, die sonst eher Teilchenphysikern oder Informatikern vorbehalten sind? Genau das unternimmt das deutsche TextGrid-Projekt.

TextGrid setzt auf eine Technologie, die zur Lösung der großen Menschheitsfragen entwickelt wurde: Grid-Computing. Astronomen etwa suchen den Ursprung des Universums mit riesigen Teleskopen im All, Physiker mit dem Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in der Schweiz und Biologen entschlüsseln auf Großrechnern das menschliche Genom. Alle erzeugen gigantische Datenmengen. Am LHC etwa fallen 15 Petabyte im Jahr an – weit über 7 Billionen Textseiten. Um diese Datenflut zu speichern, zu analysieren und über die ganze Welt verteilten Forschergruppen zugänglich zu machen, wurde die Grid-Technologie entwickelt. Sie erlaubt es, Rechner und Daten zu verbinden und komplexe Berechnungen gleichzeitig auf mehreren Systemen durchzuführen, egal in welchem Land sie stehen.

TextGrid nutzt diese Architektur, damit Wissenschaftler gemeinsam am Kulturgut der Menschheit forschen können. Denn auch die Datenmengen, die zum Beispiel bei der Digitalisierung von Text anfallen, wachsen rasant. Datenbanken machen Abertausende von antiken Inschriften, mittelalterlichen Handschriften und neuzeitlichen Drucken digital verfügbar, während Bibliotheken und Firmen wie Google Millionen von Büchern digitalisieren.

Internet-Technologien und die Digitalisierung unseres kulturellen Erbes haben aber ein noch viel größeres Potenzial, als uns vom heimischen Rechner aus bequem digitalen Zugang zu den Archiven, Museen und Bibliotheken dieser Welt zu verschaffen. Online-Projekte wie Wikipedia zeigen, wie man das Internet einsetzen kann, um weltweit zusammenzuarbeiten. Wissenschaftler nutzen mehr und mehr auch diese Technologien, um gemeinsam im virtuellen Raum neue Forschung voranzutreiben. Hinter diesen Virtuellen Forschungsumgebungen steht die Vision, zukünftig zur Lösung eines Problems ohne großen Aufwand Spezialisten Zugriff auf alle nötigen Daten und Werkzeuge geben zu können. Daher unterstützen die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) oder das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) die Entwicklung solcher virtueller Umgebungen, um Wissenschaftlern über fachliche und geographische Grenzen hinweg die Zusammenarbeit zu erleichtern oder erst zu ermöglichen.

Um diese Vision Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen, muss man Forscher, Daten und technische Infrastruktur zusammenbringen. Als international herausragendes Pilotprojekt hat sich TextGrid mit Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung genau dieser Aufgabe angenommen. Zehn deutsche Forschungseinrichtungen kooperieren seit 2006 bei der Entwickelung einer Virtuellen Forschungsumgebung für die Kultur- und Geisteswissenschaften. Im Vordergrund steht das verteilte Arbeiten mit Texten aller Art, von Lexika aus dem 18. Jahrhundert über seltene Handschriften bis zu digitalen Musikeditionen. Zudem gehören auch Bilder zum Repertoire von TextGrid. Grid-Computing liefert die Basis, ständig wachsende Datenbestände zusammenzuführen und Wissenschaftlern Werkzeuge für das gemeinsame Arbeiten mit diesen Materialien zu geben.

Virtuelle Forschungsumgebungen wie TextGrid ermöglichen es, neue Antworten auf alte Fragen zu finden – und ganz neue Fragen zu stellen. So lässt sich etwa durch den automatischen Abgleich tausender Texte viel einfacher herausfinden, wer sich von wem hat inspirieren lassen oder wie sich Ideen um die Welt verbreitet haben. Philologen können systematisch untersuchen, wie sich Sprache entwickelt hat und haben es dabei leichter, neben Texten aus der Hochkultur auch die Masse populärer Schriften zu analysieren. TextGrid bietet nicht nur einzelnen Forschern die Möglichkeit, Datenbestände zu durchsuchen, es erlaubt ihnen auch, gemeinsam an Texten zu arbeiten und sie digital aufzubereiten. Wissenschaftlichen Editionen eröffnen sich damit beispielsweise ganz neue Möglichkeiten. Für Professor Fotis Jannidis, Universität Würzburg, ist Visualisierung, wie sie TextGrid unterstützt, eine Schlüsseltechnologie:

„Im digitalen Bereich kann nun der Leser per Mausklick entscheiden, welche von mehreren Textvarianten für ihn sichtbar sein soll. Er kann sich Anmerkungen und andere Textvarianten auf den Bildschirm holen oder sich die Darstellung dynamisiert anzeigen lassen, so dass sich die verschiedenen Varianten direkt vor seinen Augen aufbauen. Die Visualisierung ist eine der ganz großen Chancen der digitalen Edition.“

Um schwierige Textstellen zu entschlüsseln, können bei digitalen Editionen Experten aus verschiedenen Ländern sogar unmittelbar kooperieren, während zeitgleich andere Kollegen daran arbeiten, Computern die Bedeutung von Texten beizubringen. Dadurch wird es etwa möglich, dass man bei einer Suche in historischen Texten auch die Orte finden kann, die mit uralten statt den heutigen Namen bezeichnet werden, oder automatisch vom Namen einer Person zu ihrer Biographie zu verlinken und so weitere Informationen über die Person zu erhalten oder sie überhaupt erst zu verifizieren.

In einer Umgebung wie TextGrid werden die Daten selbst zu Werkzeugen. Professor Andrea Rapp von der Technischen Universität Darmstadt erklärt das so:

„In der Arbeit mit einem literarischen Text kann beispielsweise die Frage auftauchen, ob ein bestimmtes Wort für diesen Dichter spezifisch ist, ob es regional begrenzt oder aber ganz weit verbreitet ist. Die miteinander verknüpften, aufbereiteten Wörterbücher geben mir Antworten auf diese Fragen. Und so können Daten, die ein Wissenschaftler erzeugt hat, für einen anderen zu neuen Werkzeugen werden. Dafür braucht man allerdings eine kritische Masse.“

TextGrid wird diese kritische Masse nicht nur anbieten, sondern auch eine Arbeitsumgebung zur Verfügung stellen, in der solche Forschungsfragen beantwortet werden können. Die Ergebnisse können dort veröffentlicht und für die Nachwelt erhalten werden.

Daten, Werkzeuge und Forschungsergebnisse online zusammenzuführen, erleichtert es auch, zur Lösung kniffliger Probleme Spezialisten aus anderen Fächern hinzuzuziehen. Heute arbeiten bereits Physiker, Bibliothekare, Informatiker, Linguisten und andere Wissenschaftler zusammen, um Virtuelle Forschungsumgebungen wie TextGrid aufzubauen. In Zukunft werden sie mit dieser Infrastruktur gemeinsam neue Wege zur Lösung wissenschaftlicher Probleme beschreiten können. Für die DFG ist die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit ein wichtiger Grund, solche Projekte zu fördern, wie Programmdirektorin Dr. Sigrun Eckelmann erklärt:

„Neuerdings gibt es Gemeinschaftsprojekte von Disziplinen, die früher nichts miteinander zu tun hatten, zum Beispiel Linguisten und Biologen oder Klimaforscher und Historiker. So etwas ist jetzt möglich und das ist eine gravierende qualitative Änderung.“

Bibliotheken spielen bei diesen Entwicklungen eine wichtige Rolle, wie Dr. Heike Neuroth von der Universität Göttingen betont:

„Projekte wie TextGrid geben uns die Chance, die Forschungsprozesse in den jeweiligen Fachdisziplinen besser zu verstehen und damit die Wissenschaftler optimal mit Werkzeugen und Daten zu unterstützen. Dies ist ja nun keine neue Aufgabe für wissenschaftliche Bibliotheken, sondern hat eine jahrtausendlange Tradition. In der heutigen Wissens- und Informationsgesellschaft werden diese Aufgaben nur um die Dimension der neuartigen Technologien ergänzt. Es wird sicherlich weiterhin Aufgabe von Bibliotheken bleiben, notwendige Literatur und Bücher für die Forschung bereit zu stellen und aufzubewahren.“

Zurück zur Pressemappe …

Über Dr. Torsten Reimer

Dr. Torsten Reimer ist Programm-Manager beim Digital Infrastructure
Joint Information Systems Committee (JISC), London.