The Digital Library in the TextGrid Repository

The Digital Library in the TextGrid Repository represents an extensive collection of German texts in digital form, ranging from the beginning of the printing press up to the first decades of the 20th century. The collection is of particular interest to German Literature Studies as it contains virtually all the important texts in the canon and numerous other texts relevant to literary history whose copyright has expired. The same applies to Philosophy and Cultural Studies as a whole. For the most part, the texts are taken from textbooks and can therefore be cited, as well as the remaining texts which predominantly stem from the digitalisation of first editions.

Fields

The texts of the Digital Library in TextGrid, which have been from the online library zeno.org, can be arranged in the following categories:

  • Literature (texts by 693 authors)
  • Fairytales (58 texts)
  • History (14 texts)
  • Cultural history (113 texts)
  • Art (12 texts)
  • Music (81 texts)
  • Natural sciences (20 texts)
  • Philosophy (texts by 248 authors)
  • Sociology (1 text)
  • Reference works (27 texts)

TextGrid makes these texts available not only for reading, but particularly for further processing, e.g. in editions and text corpora. For this purpose, the XML files are converted into a valid TEI format during the course of the project, which will make an exact research into the texts possible.

Collection "Literature"

Since end of 2009, the data stock of the “literature folder” (fiction) is available for download, XML/TEI-formatted for scholarly use and advanced research. Philosophical texts and lexica will follow.

The Corpus

Preparation of the corpus
During transformation, the original zeno-XML-mark-up was converted into TEI. In addition, further mark-up was added on the basis of defined existing mark-up or other text structure (e.g. lg-grouping, speaker etc.). Due to the limited manageability of such enormous amounts of data, the applied heuristics are kept schematic and unspecific, hence, it might in some cases result in erroneous interpretations. To remove such source of error step by step, the “literature folder” will be adapted continuously; hence, there will be different versions available.

Metadata
The extraction of metadata of the bibliographic details of authors’ works turned out to be challenging: In addition to the variety of different source types, there is an inconsistent capture of bibliographic declaration, e.g. title, volume, publisher, etc. of a work is given in differing order and are separated either by comma or full stop. Date specifications exist partially and are noted in differing formats. The following metadata could be extracted:

  • Author: sourceDesc/biblFull/titleStmt/author, PND in the attribute „key”.
  • Work title: fileDesc/titleStmt/title.
  • Date specification: If a distinct date of origin was identified, it was tagged as follows: sourceDesc/biblFull/publicationStmt/date. If there is no distinct date of origin assured, we tried to approximate the period of origin by the inscirption <date notBefore=“…” notAfter=“…”>. Therefore the authors' dates of birth and – if existing – information about the first publication where used. These information are evaluated in order to specify the most marginal period with the adjuncts „notBefore“ and „notAfter“.
  • All of the available bibliographic information represented by a string: sourceDesc/biblFull/titleStmt/title.

Currently, the extraction of metadata is being continued in order to code the data even more accurately structured.

Download

Please use the following links to download the entire data stock of the “literature folder” as well as a schema on the data (in German):
Download of published files: Text and images (version I) (1,9 GB)
Download text corpus version I (391 MB)

Download text corpus version II (390 MB)
Download schemas (Git Repository)

On the versions

The coding of the original data includes works, collections, chapters and other text items, e.g. headings, with one single recursive tag (article-element). The interlacing of these article-elements is plurivalent, so it is complex to determine if an article-element contains the whole text, one chapter, the dedication, one device or only the title or other metadata. The first version of the corpora, therefore, encoded in some extent particular titles within the TEI-element. This bug was eliminated in corpora II where this information is coded in the front element.

Portal

The data in the TextGrid portal (repository) can only be updated in longer time intervals. However, the portal will be configured interactively in the long-run, so users can exchange information on encoding imprecision directly. For information on identified challenges with the corpus please contact katrin.betz@uni-wuerzburg.de.
The texts of the literature collection are available from the
TextGrid Repository ; the collections of philosophical texts and lexica will follow.

Future functions of the portal

  • Download of self-assembled sub-corpus.
  • Search: search within time periods; suitable matches can be downloaded within the context (approx. 4 lines); improvement of the possibilities to restrict the search to certain sub-corpora.
  • Communication between users: links to research projects and publications which are based on the Digital Library; mailing list.

Differences between the corpus of the portal and the total corpus

Corpus of the portal
To ingest data of the corpus into the TextGrid Repository, the total file of the teiCorpus-level and the TEI-level were splitted. The metadata of the teiHeader were collected in multiple metadata-sets. During the input of data in the repository, Persistent Identifiers (PIDs) were assigned.
A splitted version of corpus II is currently available from the portal.

Entire corpus
The complete corpus includes only one data file per author. Works, collections, and text items like chapters are covered by TEI elements or teiCorpus-elements.
The entire corpus does not include PIDs. Instead, the identifier for the relative version is specified by the name of the author, the position of the TEI- or teiCorpus-elements and the file-generation date (idno type=“FileCreationTime“).

Known Bugs
Due to technical reasons, the PID will not be delivered in the texts but is available through the metadata and will be added as soon as possible.
Semantic wrong display for speaker, lg and closer.

Should you find any errors or defects in the mark-up, please contact thorsten.vitt@uni-wuerzburg.de. Please supply the URL and exact context of the error.

Licensing

Since a publishing company (Editura, operator of zeno.org) digitised texts in the public domain and provided the XML mark up, the company owns the ancillary copyright to the digitised, compiled and marked texts. TextGrid acquired the licence to use this digitised and XML-marked collection of texts on the condition that Editura is mentioned (Creative Commons licence “by” version 3.0).
In order to relay the annotated data stock including the metadata with as few restrictions as possible, TextGrid will also make this data stock available under the Creative Commons licence “by” version 3.0.

The texts as such, i.e. the texts without annotations and without added metadata, are available in the public domain. Texts already in the public domain are not affected by licensing.
TextGrid created a new database by processing and structuring the texts as well as editing the metadata; this database is automatically subject to own ancillary copyrights in accordance with general copyright regulations. These copyrights are also regulated by the Creative Commons licence “by” version 3.0.
Hence, the data stock of the Digital Library can be:

  • reproduced, distributed and made available to the general public
  • used to adapt and edit the content
  • used commercially

Refer to: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/
In each case, TextGrid must be mentioned in the form: TextGrid.

Should you pass on data of the data stock that are protected, please add the following information:The work title by name is a modification of the data stock of TextGrid’s Digital Library, www.editura.de, and is published under the Creative Commons licence.

Proceedings

Previous proceedings

  • Structural analysis of the text data: The data is structured in folders according to encyclopaedias/subject areas (history, cultural history, art, literature, fairytales, music, natural sciences, philosophy, and sociology); each folder contains subfolders (generally one subfolder per author which contains all the author’s works in one file).
  • Enriching of the original data (ID, information on the work, structural disambiguation)
  • Extraction of metadata: Metadata on the individual works are located in various files; the information on the digitalisation source is stored in an external catalogue file; the information on the time and place of publication is located at the beginning of the author file as an unstructured free-form text. All metadata belonging to a certain work is assigned to the respective work via a specific transformation routine.
  • Manual marking of the work level: As the mark-up does not allow an automatic division of the data into individual works, information on the works was added manually (initially for the literature folder, over 120,000 individual works). For this purpose, a user interface displaying the data and processing them further was created.
  • Filtering of the files by text type: For the “literature folder”,individual works had to be sorted according to their text type in order to enable the development of conversion routines specifically according to the text type. The existing user interface could be enhanced accordingly.
  • Specifications for the mapping of the text types poetry, prose and drama
  • Development of transformation routines for the mapping of the individual text types in the literature folder on TEI P5
  • Structural transformation from <div> to <teiCorpus>
  • Encoding of metadata that can be extracted automatically in <teiHeader>
  • First adjustment of the data structure to the TextGrid architecture
  • Integration of Adelungs’ dictionary and “Meyers Konversationalexikon“ (conversation dictionary) into the “Trierer Wörterbuchnetz” (Trier Dictionary Network)
  • Creation of routines for the mapping of Adelung’s dictionary to TEI P5

Further proceedings

  • Refining of the metadata, development of a user interface for manual correction of metadata
  • Error analysis of the TEI marking and corrections
  • Improvement of the data structure with regard to the TextGrid architecture
  • Additional structural analysis of the texts and more in-depth TEI marking
  • Allocation of persistent identifiers for each work level
  • Application and, if necessary, modification of the transformation routines for the remaining folders and dictionaries in the Digital Library

On funding

This collection of texts was acquired as part of the research project TextGrid (www.textgrid.de, funding code: 01UG1203A) with funds provided by the BMBF (“Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung” – German Federal Ministry of Education and Research). We therefore kindly ask you to add this note on funding when providing the data stock for further usage.

Die Digitale Bibliothek bei TextGrid

Die "Digitale Bibliothek" im TextGrid Repository bietet eine umfangreiche Sammlung XML/TEI-erschlossener Texte aus Belletristik und Sachliteratur vom Anfang des Buchdrucks bis zu den ersten Jahrzehnten des 20. Jahrhunderts in digitaler Form. Für die germanistische Literaturwissenschaft ist die Sammlung von besonderem Interesse, da sie nahezu alle wichtigen kanonisierten Texte und zahlreiche weitere literaturhistorisch relevante Texte enthält, deren urheberrechtliche Schutzfrist abgelaufen ist. Ähnliches gilt für die Philosophie und die Kulturwissenschaften insgesamt. Die Texte stammen zum größten Teil aus Studienausgaben und sind daher, ebenso wie die auf der Digitalisierung von Erstdrucken basierenden Texte, zitierfähig.

Sachgebiete

Die Texte der im Rahmen der Digitalen Bibliothek von TextGrid erworbenen Online-Bibliothek von zeno.org gliedern sich in die Kategorien

  • Literatur (Texte von 693 Autoren)
  • Märchen (58 Texte)
  • Geschichte (14 Texte)
  • Kulturgeschichte (113 Texte)
  • Kunst (12 Texte)
  • Musik (81 Texte)
  • Naturwissenschaften (20 Texte)
  • Philosophie (248 Texte)
  • Soziologie (1 Text)
  • Nachschlagewerke (27 Texte)

TextGrid stellt diese Texte der allgemeinen Öffentlichkeit nicht nur zur Lektüre, sondern vor allem auch zur Weiterverarbeitung z.B. in Editionen und Korpora zur Verfügung. Dafür wurden die XML-Dateien in ein gültiges TEI-Format konvertiert, das die Möglichkeit einer genauen Recherche bietet.

Sammlung "Literatur"

Bereits im Repository verfügbar ist der sogenannte „Literaturordner“, der belletristische Texte für die wissenschaftliche Verwendung aufbereitet, d.h. in XML/TEI und für avancierte Recherchen ausgezeichnet, enthält. Philosophische Texte und Lexika folgen.

Informationen zum Korpus

Korpusaufbereitung
Bei den Transformationen wurde das ursprüngliche Zeno-XML-Mark-up in die entsprechenden TEI-Tags umgewandelt. Daneben wurde versucht, auf der Basis bestimmter im Mark-up oder im Text auftretender Strukturen weiteres Mark-up hinzuzufügen (z.B. lg-Gruppierung, speaker etc.). Die dabei angewandten Heuristiken sind auf Grund der eingeschränkten Überschaubarkeit so großer Datenmengen schematisch und unspezifisch gehalten, weshalb es in einigen Fällen zu einer fehlerhaften Interpretation kommen kann. Um solche oder ähnliche Fehlerquellen schrittweise zu entfernen, wird der Literaturordner von uns kontinuierlich überarbeitet und steht deshalb in verschiedenen Versionen zu Verfügung.

Metadaten
Die Extraktion von Metadaten aus den bibliografischen Angaben zu den Werken der AutorInnen erwies sich als besonders schwierig: Zu der Vielfalt der unterschiedlichen Quellenarten kommt eine z.T. uneinheitliche Erfassung der bibliografischen Angaben. So stehen z.B. der Titel eines Werkes, Jahrgänge, Verlag etc. in unterschiedlicher Reihenfolge und können durch Komma oder Punkt voneinander getrennt sein. Datumsangaben sind nur zum Teil vorhanden und haben unterschiedliche Formate. Folgende Metadaten konnten extrahiert werden:

  • AutorIn: sourceDesc/biblFull/titleStmt/author, PND im Attribut „key“
  • Werktitel: fileDesc/titleStmt/title
  • Datumsangaben: Wenn ein eindeutiges Entstehungsdatum extrahierbar war, wurde dieses getaggt mit: sourceDesc/biblFull/publicationStmt/date. Ist kein eindeutiges Entstehungsdatum vorhanden, wurde versucht den Entstehungszeitraum durch die Angabe <date notBefore=„…“ notAfter=„…“> einzuschränken. Dazu wurden die Geburtsdaten und eventuelle Angaben zur (Erst-) Veröffentlichung verwendet. Die Angaben sind jeweils so ausgewertet, dass in den beiden Attributen „notBefore“ und „notAfter“ der kleinste sinnvolle Zeitraum kodiert wird.
  • Gesamte vorhandene bibliografische Angabe als String: sourceDesc/biblFull/titleStmt/title.

Momentan wird weiterhin an der Extraktion von Metadaten gearbeitet, um diese noch feiner strukturiert kodieren zu können.

Download

Über die folgenden Links können Sie den Gesamtdatenbestand des Literaturordners sowie ein Schema zu den Daten downloaden.
Download der veröffentlichten Dateien: Texte und Bilder (Version I) (1,9 GB)
Download Texte Korpus Version I (391 MB)

Download Texte Korpus Version II (390 MB)
Download des Schemas (Git-Repository)

Angaben zu den Versionen

In den Originaldaten sind Werke, Sammlungen, Kapitel und andere Texteinheiten sowie auch Überschriften u.Ä. rekursiv mit einem einzigen Tag (article-Element) kodiert. Die Verschachtelung dieser article-Elemente ist mehrdeutig, und es ist nicht einfach festzustellen, wann ein article-Element einen ganzen Text, ein Kapitel, eine Widmung, ein Motto oder gar nur Überschriften und weitere Metaangaben beinhaltet. In der ersten Version des Korpus waren deshalb z.T. auch einzelne Überschriften innerhalb eines eigenen TEI-Elements kodiert. Dieser Fehler wurde versucht in Korpus II zu beheben, die entsprechenden Angaben sind nun im front-Element kodiert.

Die Digitale Bibliothek im Repository

Im TextGrid Repository werden die Daten in größeren Zeitabständen aktualisiert. Es ist geplant, das Portal langfristig interaktiv zu gestalten, so dass sich AnwenderInnen über eventuelle Kodierungsungenauigkeiten informieren können. Wenn Sie bereits vorher über bekannte Schwierigkeiten im Korpus informiert werden wollen, wenden Sie sich bitte per E-Mail an thorsten.vitt@uni-wuerzburg.de.
Im TextGrid Repository finden Sie derzeit die Texte des „Literaturordners“; die Sammlungen Philosophie und Lexika sollen folgen.

Geplante Funktionen des Portals

  • Download von selbst zusammengestellten Subkorpora.
  • Suche: Suche innerhalb von Zeiträumen; Suchergebnisse sollen innerhalb ihres Kontextes (ca. 4 Zeilen) heruntergeladen werden können; Verbesserung der Möglichkeiten zur Einschränkung der Suche auf ein bestimmtes Subkorpus.
  • Kommunikation der NutzerInnen: Verlinkung zu Forschungsprojekten und Veröffentlichungen, die auf der Digitalen Bibliothek basieren; Mailingliste.

Portalkorpus und Gesamtkorpus

Portalkorpus
Um das Korpus in das TextGrid-Repository einzuspielen, wurden die Gesamtdateien auf der teiCorpus-Ebene und der TEI-Ebene gesplittet. Die auch im teiHeader verfügbaren Metadaten wurden dabei in mehreren Metadatendateien erfasst.
Beim Einspielen der Dateien in das Repository werden PIDs vergeben (s.u. Known Bugs).

Im Portal befindet sich derzeit die gesplittete Version des Korpus II.

Gesamtkorpus
Das Gesamtkorpus enthält jeweils nur eine einzige Datei pro AutorIn. Werke, Sammlungen oder auch Texteinheiten wie z.B. Kapitel sind durch TEI-Elemente bzw. teiCorpus-Elemente erfasst.

Das Gesamtkorpus enthält keine PIDs. Stattdessen wird als Identifier für die jeweilige Version der Autorname, die Position des TEI- oder des teiCorpus-Elementes zusammen mit dem Generierungszeitpunkt angegeben (idno type=„FileCreationTime“).

Bekannte Bugs
Aus technischen Gründen wird die PID zurzeit in den Texten nicht mit ausgeliefert, ist aber über die Metadaten verfügbar und wird baldmöglichst nachgetragen.
Es liegen semantisch falsche Auszeichnungen bei speaker, lg und closer vor.

Bei den Transformationen wurde versucht, nicht zum Text gehörige Metadaten wie mehrfachkodierte Überschriften o.Ä. zu entfernen. In einigen Fällen wurden dabei versehentlich kleine einführende oder abschließende Textfragmente entfernt. Dazu gehören z.B. Akt- oder Szenenüberschriften, Regieanweisungen, Vorwörter und Anhänge. Wir arbeiten daran, diesen Fehler zu beheben und eine Auflistung der betroffenen Werke zu erstellen.

Sollten Sie Fehler oder Mängel in den Auszeichnungen oder in der Funktionalität des Portals feststellen, bitten wir um Mitteilung (E-Mail: thorsten.vitt@uni-wuerzburg.de). Bitte geben Sie dabei die URL und den genauen Kontext des Fehlers an.

Lizenzierung

Der Verlag Editura (der zeno.org betreibt) hat gemeinfreie Texte digitalisiert und in XML ausgezeichnet. Dadurch sind dem Verlag Leistungsschutzrechte für die Digitalisierung, Zusammenstellung und Auszeichnung entstanden. TextGrid hat eine Lizenz erworben, diese digitale und angereicherte Textsammlung nutzen zu dürfen, unter der Bedingung, dass Editura genannt wird (Creative Commons Lizenz „by“ Version 3.0).
Um den annotierten Datenbestand inklusive Metdatendaten möglichst wenig restriktiv weitergeben zu können, stellt ihn TextGrid ebenfalls unter der Creative Commons Lizenz „by“ Version 3.0 zur Verfügung. Die reinen Texte ohne Annotation und Metadaten sind allgemeinfrei.

Eine bereits bestehende Allgemeinfreiheit der Texte bleibt von der Lizensierung unberührt. Durch die Aufbereitung, die Strukturierung der Texte und die Bearbeitung der Metadaten hat TextGrid eine neue Datenbank erstellt, die nach dem Urheberrecht automatisch Leistungsschutzrechten eigener Art unterliegt. Auch diese Rechte sind durch die Creative Commons Lizenz „by“ Version 3.0 geregelt.
Der Datenbestand der Digitalen Bibliothek darf somit
:

  • vervielfältigt, verbreitet und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden
  • Abwandlungen und Bearbeitungen des Inhaltes angefertigt
  • kommerziell genutzt werden

Siehe: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/de/
Dabei muss TextGrid in der folgenden Form genannt werden: TextGrid

Bei Weitergabe von geschützten Daten dieses Datenbestandes ist den Daten folgende Information beizufügen: Das Werk Titel von Name ist eine Abwandlung des Datenbestandes der Digitalen Bibliothek von TextGrid, www.editura.de und wird unter der Creative Commons Lizenz veröffentlicht.

Arbeitsschritte

Durchgeführte Arbeitsschritte

  • Strukturanalyse der Textdaten: Die Daten sind in Ordnern nach Wörterbüchern und Enzyklopädien bzw. nach Gebieten (Geschichte, Kulturgeschichte, Kunst, Literatur, Märchen, Musik, Naturwissenschaften, Philosophie, Soziologie) organisiert; jeder Ordner enthält Unterordner, i.d.R. einen Unterordner pro AutorIn, der alle Werke des/der AutorIn in einer Datei vereinigt.
  • Anreicherung der Originaldaten (ID, Werksinformation, Disambiguierung der Struktur)
  • Extraktion der Metadaten: Die Metadaten zu den einzelnen Werken befinden sich in verschiedenen Dateien: die Information über die Digitalisierungsquelle ist in einer externen Katalogdatei ausgelagert, die Informationen über Ort und Zeit der Veröffentlichung stehen als unstrukturierter Freitext zu Beginn der Autordatei. Eine eigene Transformationsroutine ordnet alle einem Werk zugehörige Metadaten diesem zu.
  • Manuelle Auszeichnung der Werkebene: Die Auszeichnung lässt keine automatische Trennung der Daten in einzelne Werke zu, weswegen die Werkinformation (zunächst für den Literaturordner, über 120000 Einzelwerke) manuell hinzugefügt wurde. Dazu musste ein User Interface zur Anzeige und Weiterverarbeitung der Daten geschaffen werden.
  • Filterung der Dateien nach Textsorte: Für den Literaturordner müssen die einzelnen Werke nach Textsorte sortiert werden um textsortenspezifische Konvertierungsroutinen entwickeln zu können. Hierbei konnte das bereits bestehende User Interface entsprechend erweitert werden.
  • Spezifikationen für das Mapping der Textsorten Lyrik, Prosa und Drama.
  • Entwicklung von Transformationsroutinen für das Mapping der einzelnen Textsorten des Literaturordners auf TEI P5
  • Strukturumformung von <div> nach <teiCorpus>
  • Kodierung maschinell extrahierbarer Metadaten im <teiHeader>
  • Erste Anpassung der Datenstruktur auf die TextGrid-Architektur
  • Einbindung des Wörterbuchs von Adelung und Meyers Konversationslexikon in das Trierer Wörterbuchnetz
  • Erstellung von Routinen für das Mapping des Wörterbuchs von Adelung auf TEI P5

Geplante Arbeitsschritte

  • Verfeinerung der Metadaten, Entwicklung eines User Interfaces zur manuellen Korrektur der Metadaten
  • Fehleranalyse der TEI-Auszeichnung und Korrekturen
  • Optimierung Datenstruktur hinsichtlich der TextGrid-Architektur
  • Weitere Strukturerschließung der Texte und tiefere TEI-Auszeichnung
  • Vergabe von persistenten Identifiern für jede Werkebene
  • Anwendung und ggf. Anpassung der Transformationsroutinen auf die übrigen Ordner und Wörterbücher der Digitalen Bibliothek

Förderhinweis

Die vorliegende Textsammlung wurde im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts TextGrid (www.textgrid.de, Förderkennzeichen: 01UG1203A) mit Mitteln des BMBF (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung) erworben. Wir bitten im Falle der Nachnutzung des Datenbestandes diesen Förderhinweis den Daten beizulegen.