Heike Neuroth, TextGrid coordinator at the SUB Göttingen, on the sustainability of virtual research environments and the limits of historically grown funding infrastructures.

What can you tell us about sustainability of virtual research environments?

Neuroth: This is a huge issue for TextGrid, as it basically is for any virtual research environment. And up to now, there are hardly any approaches. I think it is rather evident that neither researchers nor universities should pay to use a service. But because Grid-based virtual research environments specifically provide for the mutual usage of allotted resources, there is also, amongst others, a problem related to the federal government and the federal states: if, for example, resources that are available in a computing centre outside of Lower Saxony are funded by the ministry of that federal state, we in Lower Saxony cannot readily access these resources, and hence cannot collaborate on the respective resources with local scientists. We are only allowed to use those resources, hardware, and software, that have been mutually procured in the framework of the Grid Special investments (EUR 25,000,000 approx.). But those will expire by the end of 2012. From then on, we actually are not allowed to access the resources of other federal states, because their usage will be limited to local researchers. This means that we are heading towards a conflict: federal state acquisitions only for researchers from the respective federal state versus growing cooperation or collaboration across federal states and internationally, on a European level and also on a larger international level.

Do the funding structures that have developed through history need to be revised?

Neuroth: That would be good, as, given their current design, they no longer match the era of growing networking and collaboration. Humanists are increasingly collaborating supra-regionally, sharing research data and using tools mutually, therefore at least certain parts of the funding capital should be acquired nationally. Yet, because of the discussion of federalism, the federal government currently maintains a sense of restraint towards such investments, emphasizing that the funding of universities and their infrastructure is the federal states’ responsibility. Hence, in Germany, the sustainability of virtual research environments – comprising scientific networks from various federal states – is meeting both structural and political limits.

Is there a need for new juridical concepts?

Neuroth: I would say there is a need for structural political concepts, certainly considering the general juridical framework.

Is this problem limited to the humanities?

Neuroth: Actually, it occurs wherever data is collected, processed, or stored trans-regionally. Solutions on an organisational level hitherto only exist for some computationally intensive disciplines like astro- or particle physics and climate research. Humanities are facing another problem which, to my knowledge, natural scientists do not have, as they have been well-organised and coordinated for decades and can therefore act in a much more assertive manner: the humanities are very heterogeneous, both as regards the disciplines’ cultures and their resource requirements, formats, and the design of research data. One idea of TextGrid was to establish a large national network with the funds of the federal government and states, covering all humanistic disciplines. This would allow for a precise tracking of the resources or services – e.g. metadata, annotation tool, lemmatizer – a particular network is using. The network could then divide funding from the federal government and states, and transfer some of the services accessed or needed by the experts into a so-called business model.

You are talking about this model as a past model? Is it off the table?

Neuroth: Not completely, but it would require several years of preparation. We would have liked to have explored on a conceptual level within TextGrid whether this would be possible in principle. We wanted to know what amount of money we actually were talking about, and whether funding by the federal government and states was feasible. However, the BMBF signalled that, for formal reasons, this was not an option for TextGrid. Instead, will now focus on TextGrid and, for example, pursue the following questions: How many research groups will now actively use TextGrid? How much does it cost to maintain routine operability? What are the costs of maintenance, or the ingest of necessary updates, respectively? And what are the costs of a further development of TextGrid, given the particular demands of a research group?

Does your computing centre have the capacity for TextGrid data?

Neuroth: The GWDG (Gesellschaft für wissenschaftliche Datenverarbeitung mbH Göttingen) has a very large storage area. But, for example, consider the data at the Institut für Deutsche Sprache, located in Mannheim / Baden-Württemberg. Let’s assume they wouldn’t build up their own data centre, but requested it here in Göttingen. They would have to pay for it, whereas the GWDG is free of charge for use by Göttingen researchers. And we aren’t just talking about storage capacities here, but also about computing capacities.

Which solutions are being discussed?

Neuroth: Within WissGrid, we have tried to establish solutions by stating that part of the funding should not go to the computing centres directly, who would be holding resources without anyone knowing when and by whom these will then be accessed. Instead, we have suggested that the funding be transferred to the virtual research environments, which, as brokers between scientists or research groups on the one hand and the computing centres on the other hand, have the most accurate overview of which resources are needed, and who could then search for the best offer – actually a current practice on the free market. Thus they can choose the computing centre offering the best conditions in that specific case. The question of sustainability doesn’t affect only TextGrid. In the past, other services in the humanities have been developed, and are, like TextGrid services, in danger of getting lost in space by the end of the project period. At the same time, more and more centres like the Göttingen Centre for Digital Humanities (GCDH) are being established, and are located rather close to the experts’ demands. Principally, we need a register listing all services in Germany and which researchers, research groups, or research disciplines intend to use them. What do these services cost in terms of operation, maintenance, but eventually also as regards further development, for example for regular software updates? As far as I know, there currently is no single virtual research environment in Germany that has implemented feasible concepts that could serve as a guideline for us.

If funding expires, TextGrid will come to an end as early as 2012. Where, in that case, will data and services developed by TextGrid be located?

Neuroth: They would be spatially distributed. Some services are the responsibility of specific universities, like Wurzburg or Darmstadt. The repository will be situated in Göttingen, with the SUB (State and University Library) in charge of it. Yet I don’t think we actually will be getting to a point where, in May 2012, everything will be switched off. Many research projects have already invested in TextGrid. This is what I am worried about most: basically, we only are at the beginning right now! A research community is forming; the interest in TextGrid is immense. Research networks are about to start working with TextGrid, and it gives us headaches not knowing how to offer them a stable and reliable service after 2012, without political support and sponsors. Hence we are working hard to develop concepts, and I do hope we all mutually will have concrete ideas by early 2012.

In case there won’t be trans-regional funding, could you restrict the project to Lower Saxony?

Neuroth: TextGrid, from the outset on, was based on cooperation and related to various federal states; hence I would hardly consider such a scenario a success. We cannot motivate and support scientists to study in a globally networked environment, to cooperate and collaborate, and then withdraw into provincial politics. Sorry for putting this rather drastically. Yet I don’t think it is the individual researcher who should solve the problem of sustainability, but we all have to collaborate on this, first and foremost politicians, sponsors, infrastructural institutions, and science.

Are you behind schedule?

Neuroth: Actually, we are ahead of schedule. We have just, as part of our Digital Humanities ceremony, released version 1.0 of TextGrid that was initially planned for May 2012. The 1.0 version doesn’t yet contain everything that was scheduled for May. But we decided to move this item up in the agenda, as urged by research groups, who wanted to finally work with TextGrid. We certainly underestimated the problem of sustainability. Also as regards WissGrid – where sustainability is a major focus – we couldn’t proceed as fast as we thought and intended. In fact, we cannot solve this alone. We need sponsors in the federal government and states, as well as policy makers.

Interview by Esther Lauer.

Back to the press kit …

Dr. Heike Neuroth, Projektleiterin TextGrid und Leiterin der Abteilung Forschung & Entwicklung an der SUB Göttingen, über die Nachhaltigkeit Virtueller Forschungsumgebungen und die Grenzen historisch gewachsener Förderstrukturen

Wie sieht es mit der Nachhaltigkeit virtueller Forschungsumgebungen aus?

Neuroth: Das ist ein großes Thema für TextGrid, wie im Grunde für alle virtuellen Forschungsumgebungen. Und bis jetzt gibt es kaum Lösungsansätze. Ich denke, es dürfte relativ klar sein, dass weder die Wissenschaftler noch die Universitäten für das Nutzen eines Dienstes bezahlen sollten. Aber dadurch, dass vor allem Grid-basierte virtuelle Forschungsumgebungen eine gemeinsame Nutzung von verteilten Ressourcen vorsehen, haben wir hier unter anderem auch eine Bund-Land-Problematik: Wenn beispielsweise Ressourcen in einem nicht-niedersächsischen Rechenzentrum zur Verfügung stehen, die von dem Ministerium des dortigen Bundeslands finanziert werden, dann dürfen wir hier in Niedersachen nicht ohne Weiteres darauf zugreifen und damit auch nicht zusammen mit den dortigen Wissenschaftlern mit den Ressourcen arbeiten. Wir dürfen nur die Ressourcen, Hardware und Software, benutzen, die im Rahmen der Grid-Sonderinvestitionen von ca. 25.000.000 € gemeinsam angeschafft worden sind. Die laufen aber Ende 2012 aus. Von da ab dürfen wir auf Ressourcen in anderen Bundesländern eigentlich nicht mehr zugreifen, da sie dann nur noch den Wissenschaftlern dieses Bundeslandes zur Verfügung stehen. Das heißt, wir rennen hier in einen Konflikt: Bundesland-Anschaffungen nur für die Wissenschaftler aus diesem Bundesland versus zunehmende Kooperation oder Kollaboration bundeslandübergreifend und länderübergreifend auf europäischer und weiterer internationaler Ebene.

Müssten die historisch gewachsenen Förderstrukturen geändert werden?

Neuroth: Das wäre gut, denn so wie sie sind, passen sie nicht mehr in eine Zeit zunehmender Vernetzung und Kollaboration. Wenn heute Geisteswissenschaftler immer häufiger überregional zusammenarbeiten, Forschungsdaten teilen, und Tools gemeinsam nutzen, dann muss auch zumindest ein Teil der Fördergelde national aufgebracht werden. Durch die Föderalismus-Diskussion hält sich der Bund aber derzeit aus solchen Investitionen weitestgehend zurück und verweist darauf, dass die Finanzierung von Hochschulen und deren Infrastruktur Ländersache sei. Deshalb stößt die Nachhaltigkeit von virtuellen Forschungsumgebungen, für die Forschungsverbünde aus mehreren Bundesländern zusammenkommen, in Deutschland an strukturelle und politische Grenzen.

Braucht man neue juristische Konzepte?

Neuroth: Ich würde sagen, strukturpolitische Konzepte, die natürlich auch die juristischen Rahmenbedingungen berücksichtigen.

Betrifft dieses Problem nur die Geisteswissenschaften?

Neuroth: Es tritt eigentlich überall da auf, wo länderübergreifend Daten gesammelt, verarbeitet oder gespeichert werden. Nur für einige sehr rechenintensiven Disziplinen wie die Astro- oder Teilchenphysik und die Klimaforschung gibt es bereits zum Teil organisatorische Lösungen. In den Geisteswissenschaften besteht außerdem noch ein weiteres Problem, das Naturwissenschaftler meines Wissens so nicht haben, denn die sind seit Jahrzehnten sehr gut organisiert und koordiniert und können dadurch sehr viel bestimmter auftreten: Die Geisteswissenschaften sind sehr heterogen, sowohl in der Fächerkultur als auch in den Ressourcen-Anforderungen, den Formaten und der Art der Forschungsdaten. Eine Idee von TextGrid war deshalb, dass man zunächst einen großen nationalen Verbund für alle geisteswissenschaftlichen Disziplinen etabliert, der über Bund-Länder-Mittel verfügt. Dann könnte man genau nachverfolgen, auf welche Ressourcen und Dienste – Metadaten, Annotations-Tool, Lemmatizer oder ähnliches – dieser Verbund zurückgreift. Und der Verbund könnte dann die dafür vorgesehenen Bund-Land-Gelder aufteilen und einige der von den Fachwissenschaftlern abgerufenen oder benötigten Dienste in ein so genanntes Betriebsmodell überführen.

Sie sprechen von diesem Modell in der Vergangenheit? Ist es vom Tisch?

Neuroth: Noch nicht ganz, aber es bräuchte jahrelange Vorbereitung. Wir hätten im Rahmen von TextGrid gerne konzeptionell untersucht, ob so etwas grundsätzlich möglich wäre. Wir wollten wissen, über wie viel Gelder wir hier eigentlich reden und ob eine Bund-Land-Finanzierung machbar ist. Es ist uns aber vom BMBF signalisiert worden, dass das im Rahmen von TextGrid aus formalen Gründen so nicht geht. Statt dessen werden wir uns nun ganz auf TextGrid konzentrieren und zum Beispiel folgenden Fragen nachgehen: Wieviele Forschergruppen und Forscher insgesamt werden TextGrid jetzt aktiv nutzen? Wieviel kostet alleine das Aufrechterhalten des Routine-Betriebs? Was kostet eine pflegerische Entwicklung, also zum Beispiel das Einspielen notwendiger Updates? Und was kostet eine Weiterentwicklung von TextGrid zum Beispiel für den Fall, dass eine Forschergruppe bestimmte Anforderungen hat?

Hat Ihr Göttinger Rechenzentrum Kapazitäten für TextGrid-Daten?

Neuroth: Die GWDG hat einen sehr großen Speicher-Bereich. Aber denken wir beispielsweise an die Daten des Instituts für Deutsche Sprache, das in Mannheim, also in Baden-Württemberg sitzt. Angenommen, die würden kein eigenes Datenzentrum aufbauen, sondern hier in Göttingen anfragen: Dann müssten sie natürlich dafür bezahlen, wohingegen die GWDG für die Nutzung durch die Göttinger Wissenschaftler kostenlos ist. Und es geht ja nicht nur um Speicher-, sondern auch um Rechenkapazitäten.

Welche Lösungsansätze werden diskutiert?

Neuroth: Wir haben in WissGrid versucht, Lösungskonzepte aufzubauen, indem wir grob vereinfacht gesagt haben, dass ein Teil der Förderung nicht direkt an die Rechenzentren gehen sollte, damit diese Ressourcen vorhalten, ohne dass man weiß, wann sie von wem abgerufen werden, sondern dass die Gelder an die virtuellen Forschungsumgebungen fließen, die als Broker zwischen den Wissenschaftlern bzw. Forschergruppen und den Rechenzentren den besten Überblick darüber haben, welche Ressourcen gebraucht werden, und die sich dann – wie auf dem freien Markt eigentlich üblich – nach dem besten Angebot umschauen. So können sie jeweils dasjenige Rechenzentrum wählen, das für diesen Fall die besten Konditionen anbietet. Die Frage der Nachhaltigkeit betrifft ja nicht nur TextGrid. Es gibt noch andere geisteswissenschaftliche Dienste, die in der Vergangenheit entwickelt worden sind, und die am Ende der Projektphase genauso im Nirwana zu versinken drohen wie die TextGrid-Dienste. Gleichzeitig werden immer mehr Zentren wie das Göttinger Centre for Digital Humanities (GCDH) gegründet, die sehr nahe an den fachwissenschaftlichen Anforderungen sitzen. Und es geht im Prinzip darum, eine Aufstellung darüber zu machen, welche Dienste es in Deutschland gibt und welche Fachwissenschaftler, Forschungsverbünde oder Fachdisziplinen sie gerne nutzen wollen. Was kosten die Dienste im Betrieb, im Unterhalt, aber auch vielleicht in der pflegerischen Weiterentwicklung wie regelmäßigen Software-Updates? Es gibt zurzeit meines Wissens noch keine einzige virtuelle Forschungsumgebung in Deutschland, die bereits tragfähige Konzepte umgesetzt hätte, an denen wir uns orientieren könnten.

Wenn es keine weitere Förderung gibt, dann läuft TextGrid bereits 2012 aus. Wo liegen in dem Fall die von Ihnen entwickelten Daten und Dienste?

Neuroth: Die liegen dann verteilt. Es gibt Dienste, für die bestimmte Universitäten zuständig sind, wie Würzburg oder Darmstadt. Das Repository, also das Datenzentrum, wird in Göttingen liegen, dafür hat die SUB die Verantwortung übernommen. Aber ich glaube nicht, dass es soweit kommt, also dass wir im Mai 2012, direkt nach Ende, alles abschalten. Wir haben ja Forschungsprojekte, die bereits in TextGrid investiert haben. Das ist genau das, was mir am meisten Sorgen macht: Es geht im Prinzip jetzt erst richtig los! Es bildet sich eine Forscher-Community; das Interesse ist riesengroß. Es gibt Forschungsverbünde, die konkret und direkt bei TextGrid arbeiten wollen und es bereitet uns große Kopfschmerzen, dass wir nicht wissen, wie wir denen über 2012 hinaus einen stabilen und verlässlichen Dienst zur Verfügung stellen können, ohne dass wir Unterstützung aus der Politik und von den Förderern erhalten. Wir arbeiten daher mit Hochdruck an Konzepten und ich hoffe, dass wir alle gemeinsam bis Anfang 2012 konkrete Ideen haben.

Könnten Sie sich, falls es keine Länder übergreifende Förderung gibt, auf Niedersachsen zurückziehen?

Neuroth: TextGrid war immer kooperativ angelegt und hat mehrere Bundesländer betroffen, also würde ich das kaum als Erfolg betrachten. Wir können auf der einen Seite die Wissenschaftler nicht motivieren und unterstützen, global vernetzt kooperativ und kollaborativ zu forschen und auf der anderen Seite uns auf Provinz-Politik zurückziehen. Entschuldigung, wenn ich dies so deutlich sage! Aber meines Erachtens muss hier nicht der einzelne Wissenschaftler das Nachhaltigkeits-Problem lösen, sondern wir alle zusammen, in erster Linie Politik, Förderer, Infrastruktureinrichtungen und Wissenschaft.

Sind Sie hinter Ihrem Zeitplan zurück?

Neuroth: Eigentlich sind wir unserem Plan voraus. Wir haben gerade mit unserem Festakt eine Version 1.0 veröffentlicht, die wir eigentlich erst im Mai nächsten Jahres veröffentlichen wollten. Diese Version 1.0 beinhaltet noch nicht all das, was im Mai nächsten Jahres dabei sein sollte. Aber wir haben die Veröffentlichung vorgezogen, weil wir von den Forschergruppen gedrängt wurden, die TextGrid jetzt endlich einsetzen und damit arbeiten wollen. Das Problem der Nachhaltigkeit haben wir mit Sicherheit unterschätzt. Und wir sind auch in WissGrid, wo das sogar ein Hauptschwerpunkt ist, nicht so schnell weiter gekommen wie gedacht und gewünscht. Wir können dies auch nicht alleine lösen. Dafür brauchen wir Bund-Land-Förderer und Entscheidungsträger.

Die Fragen stellte Esther Lauer.

Zurück zur Pressemappe …