Prof. Dr. Werner Wegstein, Senior Professor at the University of Wurzburg, on the beginnigs of TextGrid, about community building and the beauty of TEI

When did you start conceptualizing TextGrid?

Wegstein: Strictly speaking, I didn’t start anything. Somehow the concept simply emerged. Maybe it was Heike Neuroth who initiated it, by looking for possible partners with whom to submit a project proposal in reaction to a funding call from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). In Wurzburg we have been using data processing for linguistic and literary research since the seventies, compiling a considerable number of digital text editions and linguistic data. Through holding conferences in Wurzburg, networking and collaborating with other national and international digital researchers, we were able to look for new ways to undertake data processing, appropriate to the philological needs of the humanities research. And then, one day in 2004, there was Ms Neuroth sitting on our red sofa in the German Languages Department in Wurzburg, and together, with colleagues from other universities, discussed what is necessary for putting together a promising project proposal and what preparatory work the various institutions could contribute to such an endeavour.

So you designed the TextGrid-project together?

Wegstein: The term “designed” seems to suggest a clearer set of objectives than we actually had. The way I remember things was that the goal of the whole project only took a definite shape in the process of working on the proposal itself. Even the name “TextGrid” was coined rather late, during a planning session in Trier. The eventual success of the project proposal is – in my view at least – mainly due to the inspirational collaboration of all the participants, who came from a range of institutions with very different backgrounds and research interests, that, at a first glance, came together by chance; on the one hand, specialised academic researchers of Modern as well as Medieval German Literary Studies, and Linguistics with their varying search methods and interests, yet a common approval of the applying of digital methods in the Humanities, on the other hand, an institution, like the Goettingen State and University Library, which as a library not only accounts for the increasingly important sector of metadata in a digital environment, but furthermore provides a sustainable organisational foundation for the project. A professor, in an academic department, cannot sustain a project of this scale – only institutions, such as libraries, can undertake such a task. In a way, the Institute for the German Language Mannheim, (IDS) is the icing on the cake. As a central, non-university organisation for the research and documentation of the German language, it is ideal partner for a project, which is looking to adapt grid technologies for the digital preservation of linguistic cultural heritage. The technical implementation of new technologies is of course carried out by computer scientists: two university-related IT companies handle the authentication and the connection to the computational grid. That’s basically the full set of competences that are required in order to initiate a project of this kind in the Humanities.

Why do humanists need grid power?

Wegstein: At first we weren’t so sure about this either. It seemed obvious that a fail-safe storage grid would be ideal for collaborative work on the enormous amount of our cultural heritage data. Especially when you – as we do – intend to transfer not only language data into digital form, but also the physical material in which that data has been passed down to us: manuscripts, incunables, prints and whatever may have been used as linguistic information carrier – and all that in archival quality, quasi as a substitute for the original document. The further however we proceeded with structuring digital language data into very fine granulation, the clearer it became that, for complex analysis of language data in corpora as extensive as the IDS’s, enormous processing power is indispensable. This absolutely requires the application of a computing grid in the Humanities, unless you’re willing to wait weeks for any results.

Have any of your expectations of TextGrid been disappointed?

Wegstein: Not as far as content is regarded. But we had to revise our initial ideas of the time frame, required to develop a programme package that is ready for production. We simply underestimated the complexity of the task. On the other hand, for an academic research cooperation, the pace of work was still rather respectable and probably compares well internationally. And not only the pace of work: I especially valued the working atmosphere within the TextGrid project: a pleasant and inspiring co-operation, motivating and harmonious, notwithstanding controversially discussed objective differences.

What do you yourself hope to achieve through TextGrid?

Wegstein: Within the project I represent the users; I apply tools, which have been developed in TextGrid, in research projects in order to convince sceptical colleagues of the benefits of the TextGrid project. My first test case will be the edition of Joachim Heinrich Campe’s Dictionary of the German Language, an extensive dictionary of rather complex structures, which are however not always consistently applied. It is an ideal example of complicated electronic encoding according to international standards; an encoding with a consistent structure that can be validated.

For the digitalisation you have to encode the entire dictionary according to the TEI encoding scheme. Doesn’t that become somewhat monotonous?

Wegstein: Not at all. For me, TEI-encoding is like writing an orchestra score – even though the comparison is flawed with respect to the proportions of linearity and hierarchy. An orchestra score visualises the structures of the complex concurrences that collectively form a sound in a way similar to the way in which TEI-encodings represent the complex structure of a text. The first thing you would notice is a mass of angle brackets. But they can be arranged; they don’t need to come at you in waves. To me they are like a symphonic score, with the various musical instruments in different tags – and now the trombones join in, now these, now those – all in angle brackets. And as a whole their concurrence creates something brilliant.

To the outsider TEI is as inscrutable as written music to the non-musician: an accumulation of dots and dashes, no music at all…

Wegstein: This is why I recommend beginning with the text instead of the brackets. First, you contemplate the text, decide what exactly you are trying to find out, how best to visualise that, and how to make it verifiable. Seen in this light, I don’t consider the restrictions lid upon me by the XML format and TEI- encoding logic as a straightjacket but as a philologist’s challenge. I’ve been assigned the task of designing an encoding that reveals the structures of the text.

What’s TextGrid’s next task/homework?

Wegstein: We have to find a permanent funding structure and we need to promote community building. There’s still a lot to do. – I concur with Nancy Ide, who in 1999, in the introduction to the first TEI-guidelines P1, stated that „standards cannot be imposed: they must be accepted by the community.” That’s exactly where TextGrid has to take action, since for us Humanists community building is essential. And it only works one project, one researcher at a time. Humanists are unlikely to be persuaded in bulk; you’ll have to convince them one at a time, which is really tough work. In order to win over Humanists you need to show them that the new technique you promote really works. They wouldn’t accept that from an information scientist. Hence we have to come up with good knowledge transfer concepts, possibly as flexible and dynamic as the TEI training courses you can book at Brown University. They send over a team to impart all the necessary TEI-knowledge to your project; from basics to technical subtleties. That’s the way we’ll have to spread the word about TextGrid.

Interview by Esther Lauer.

Back to the press kit …

Prof. Dr. Werner Wegstein, z.Z. noch als Senior Professor an der Universität Würzburg aktiv, zu den Anfängen von TextGrid, zu Community-Building und der Schönheit von TEI

Wann haben Sie angefangen, TextGrid zu konzeptionieren?

Wegstein: Genau genommen habe nicht ich damit angefangen zu planen, sondern das Konzept hat sich einfach so entwickelt. Der Anstoß dazu stammt von Heike Neuroth. Mit Blick auf eine Ausschreibung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung hat sie sondiert, wer als Partner für einen Projektantrag in Frage kommen könnte. Wir hatten in Würzburg schon seit den siebziger Jahren Erfahrungen mit der Anwendung der Datenverarbeitung in der philologischen Forschung gesammelt. Dabei ist auch ein beachtliches Volumen von Text-Editionen und Sprachdaten in elektronischer Form zusammengekommen. Durch Tagungen in Würzburg - z.B. über die „Maschinelle Verarbeitung altdeutscher Texte V“ (1997) oder über „Korpuslinguistik deutsch - synchron, diachron, kontrastiv“ (2003)- waren wir national wie international ganz ordentlich mit den einschlägigen Fachkreisen vernetzt und auch von daher auf der Suche nach neuen Wegen für eine philologisch geprägte Datenverarbeitung in der geisteswissenschaftlichen Forschung. Und so kam es dann, dass 2004 Frau Neuroth auf dem roten Sofa der Deutschen Sprachwissenschaft in Würzburg saß und zusammen mit einigen Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus anderen Universitäten überlegte, was alles für einen halbwegs aussichtreichen Projektantrag nötig ist und was die Beteiligten aus den einzelnen Institutionen an Vorarbeiten dafür einbringen können.

Sie haben also gemeinsam das Projekt TextGrid geplant?

Wegstein: Geplant setzt vielleicht schon zuviele feste Zielvorstellungen voraus. In meiner Erinnerung an die Anfänge haben sich die Projektziele erst bei der Detailarbeit an dem Antrag herauskristallisiert. Auch der Name „TextGrid“ ist erst spät auf einer Planungssitzung in Trier erfunden worden. Dass schließlich das Antragskonzept ein Erfolg geworden ist, liegt meines Erachtens vor allem an dem motivierenden Zusammenwirken aller Beteiligten aus Institutionen mit ganz unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und Schwerpunkten, die auf den ersten Blick eher zufällig zueinander gefunden haben: einerseits die universitäre fachwissenschaftliche Forschung - aufgefächert in Neuere deutsche Literaturwissenschaft, Mediävistik und Sprachwissenschaft, mit jeweils eigenen Methoden und Forschungsinteressen, aber stets auf der Basis einer grundsätzlichen Übereinstimmung, was den Einsatz der Datenverarbeitung in den Geisteswissenschaften betrifft. Andererseits auf Dauer angelegte Institutionen wie die SUB Göttingen, die nicht nur das tragfähige organisatorische Projektfundament beiträgt, sondern natürlich auch - als Bibliothek - den immer wichtiger werdenden Bereich der Metadaten in einem digitalen Umfeld und schließlich das Institut für deutsche Sprache, als zentrale außeruniversitäre Einrichtung zur Erforschung und Dokumentation der deutschen Sprache in der Gegenwart und der jüngeren Geschichte, prädestiniert für ein Projekt, das die neuen Grid-Strukturen zur digitalen Sicherung des - zunächst einmal sprachgebundenen - kulturellen Erbes entwickeln will. In die technische Umsetzung ist natürlich die Informatik einbezogen. Um Spezialfragen, etwa die Grid-Anbindung oder die Authentifizierung, kümmern sich zwei IT-Firmen aus dem universitären Umfeld. Das ist im Grund der komplette Satz an Kompetenzen, die man braucht um ein solches Projekt in den Geisteswissenschaften in Gang zu bringen.

Wofür brauchen Geisteswissenschaftler Gridpower?

Wegstein: Am Anfang war das noch nicht so ganz sicher. Dass sich für die kollaborative Arbeit an den riesigen Datenmengen unseres kulturellen Erbes eine ausfallsichere Grid-Technologie, also ein „storage grid“ empfiehlt, das war von Anfang an klar. Erst recht, wenn man - wie wir - anstrebt, nicht nur die Sprachdaten in digitale Form zu überführen, sondern auch die Materialien, auf denen sie überliefert sind: Handschriften, Inkunabeln, Drucke und was sonst noch früher als Träger sprachlicher Information verwendet wurde, und zwar in Archivqualität, praktisch als Ersatz für die Originale. Mit fortschreitender Arbeit an der Strukturierung digitaler Sprachdaten in einer feinen Granulierung sahen wir dann aber, dass z.B. für die komplexe Analyse solcher Daten in Sprachkorpora von der Größe, wie sie das IDS verwaltet, Rechnerleistung gebraucht wird, die den Einsatz eines computing grid auch in den Geisteswissenschaften sinnvoll erscheinen lässt, wenn man nicht wochenlang auf Ergebnisse warten will.

Haben sich irgendwelche Ihrer Hoffnungen an TextGrid nicht erfüllt?

Wegstein: Nein, inhaltliche Hoffnungen nicht. Aber unsere Anfangsvorstellungen vom Zeitrahmen, den wir benötigen würden, um ein produktionsreifes Programmpaket zu erstellen, konnten wir nicht einhalten. Den Aufwand haben wir einfach unterschätzt. Andererseits erscheint mir das Arbeitstempo für einen akademischen Forschungsverbund - auch im internationalen Vergleich - trotzdem immer noch als durchaus respektabel. Und nicht nur das Arbeitstempo. Was ich  ganz besonders geschätzt habe, war die Arbeitsatmosphäre innerhalb des TextGrid-Projekts: ein angenehmes und inspirierendes Miteinander, motivierend und sehr konfliktarm, unabhängig von unterschiedlichen sachlichen Positionen, die durchaus kontrovers diskutiert wurden.

Was haben Sie selbst mit TextGrid vor?

Wegstein: Ich vertrete die Anwenderseite und wende die Werkzeuge, die im TextGrid-Projekt entwickelt wurden, in Forschungsprojekten an, um skeptische Fachkollegen vom Nutzen des TextGrid-Konzepts zu überzeugen. Mein erster Musterfall ist die Edition des Campe-Wörterbuch. Es ist als umfangreiches Wörterbuch mit sehr komplexen Strukturen, die aber nicht immer konsequent angewandt sind, ganz gut geeignet als Modell für so etwas Diffiziles wie eine elektronische Kodierung nach internationalen Standards, und zwar mit einem einheitlichen, validierbaren Strukturgerüst.

Für die Digitalisierung kodieren Sie das gesamte Wörterbuch im Dokumentenformat der Text Encoding Initiative – ist das nicht mit der Zeit etwas eintönig?

Wegstein: Keineswegs. Ich vergleiche die TEI-Kodierung von Texten gern mit der Repräsentation eines musikalischen Werkes in einer Orchesterpartitur, obwohl mir klar ist, dass der Vergleich etwas hinkt, was das Verhältnis von Linearität und Hierarchie betrifft. Aber die Partitur macht die Strukturen sichtbar, aus denen sich der Klang des Ganzen zusammensetzt. Das gilt entsprechend auch für die TEI-Kodierung von Texten.

Wenn man es noch nicht kennt, wirkt TEI so wie Noten auf Noten-Unkundige wirken: die sehen nur schwarze Striche und Punkte, keine Musik...

Wegstein: Deswegen ist es günstig, nicht mit den spitzen Klammern anzufangen, sondern bei den Texten anzusetzen und genau zu überlegen, was man daran untersuchen und wie man das festhalten und überprüfbar machen will. Unter diesem Aspekt sehe ich die Beschränkungen, die das Datenformat XML mit den spitzen Klammern und die Logik der TEI-Kodierung dem Anwender auferlegen nicht als Zwangsjacke, sondern eher als eine Herausforderung an den Philologen, auf der Basis des TEI-Standards eine Kodierung zu entwerfen, die die Strukturen des Textes deutlich macht.

Welche Hausaufgaben hat das TextGrid-Projekt noch zu erledigen?

Wegstein: Wir müssen für das Projekt selbst noch eine dauerhafte Trägerstruktur finden und das Community-Building in den Fachwissenschaften voranbringen. Das wird noch mal ein hartes Stück Arbeit. – Ich halte es mit Nancy Ide, die das in der Einleitung zur ersten Version der TEI-Guidelines P1 von 1990 so formuliert hat: „Standards cannot be imposed: they must be accepted by the community.“ Das ist exakt der Punkt, an dem TextGrid ansetzen muss. Community-Building ist für uns als Geisteswissenschaftler das A und O. Das geht nur Projekt für Projekt, Forscher für Forscher. Und diese Überzeugungsarbeit zu leisten ist schwierig. Ein Geisteswissenschaftler lässt sich am ehesten überzeugen, wenn ihm jemand aus dem eigenen Fachumfeld zeigt, dass es sich lohnt, sich auf etwas Neues einzulassen. Dazu braucht es entsprechende Vermittlungskonzepte. Vielleicht solche, die so dynamisch und flexibel angelegt sind wie die TEI-Kurse an der Brown-Universität, die Julia Flanders, Direktorin des „Women Writers Projects“, und ihr Team zur Verbreitung der TEI-Anwendung in den USA anbieten. Auf ähnliche Weise, denke ich, müssten wir auch TextGrid aussäen können.

Die Fragen stellte Esther Lauer.

Zurück zur Pressemappe …