Sustainability

TextGrid after the end of the BMBF funding period

On 31.05.2015 the funding of TextGrid by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) ended after a period of nine years. Regardless, both the TextGrid Laboratory and the TextGrid Repository will remain fully available. Since numerous technological components such as the user administration and repository technologies have been migrated to the digital research infrastructure DARIAH-DE - Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities, which is also funded by the BMBF, a sustainable and long-term usage of TextGrid's state-of-the-art services is guaranteed. Furthermore, user meetings and workshops are be up on the agenda in cooperation with DARIAH-DE, which give you an understanding of the services provided by each project. In this context you have the opportunity to present your own work and to exchange experiences with other scholars.

Do you want to use TextGrid for realising you own scholarly research project? We invite you to contact us via anfragen@textgrid.de!

Institutional Sustainability

In May 2012 “TextGrid – Verein zum nachhaltigen Betrieb einer Virtuellen Forschungsumgebung in den Geisteswissenschaften e.V.” has been founded. It is – among other options – supposed to form the long-term institutional base for the permanent operation.

Academic Sustainability

Trainings, workshops and events like regular user meetings, summits, expert and strategy talks as well as the close exchange with other academic communities ensure the sustainability of the research environment on a academic level. Furthermore international standards – concerning markup formats (XML/TEI) and metadata concepts among others – are implemented.

Technical Sustainability

The tools and services offered in TextGrid are generalised in such a way, that they may also be used in related humanistic communities. External tools, that are optimised for the integration into TextGrid, extend the offering, so that numerous typical work flows in the Humanities are realisable in one single environment.

Nachhaltigkeit

TextGrid nach Ende der Förderung durch das BMBF

Zum 31. Mai 2015 endete die insgesamt neunjährige Förderung des Forschungsverbunds TextGrid durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). Sowohl das TextGrid Laboratory als auch das TextGrid Repository werden auch weiterhin in vollem Umfang zur Verfügung stehen. Die zum Projektende erfolgte Migration zahlreicher technologischer Kernkomponenten wie etwa die Nutzerverwaltung und Repository-Technologien in die ebenfalls vom BMBF geförderte digitale Forschungsinfrastruktur DARIAH-DE – Virtual Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities gewährleistet die dauerhafte und langfristige Nutzung der Angebote von TextGrid auf neuestem technologischen Stand. In Kooperation mit DARIAH-DE werden außerdem auch weiterhin TextGrid-Nutzertreffen und Workshops auf dem Programm stehen, die Ihnen die Angebote beider Forschungsumgebungen bzw. -infrastrukturen im Zusammenspiel nahebringen. Hier besteht zudem Gelegenheit, eigene Arbeiten zu präsentieren und sich mit anderen Forschungsvorhaben auszutauschen.

Möchten Sie ein geisteswissenschaftliches Forschungsvorhaben, z.B. eine digitale Edition, mit TextGrid umsetzen? Nehmen Sie gern Kontakt mit uns auf: anfragen@textgrid.de.

Institutionelle Nachhaltigkeit

Der im Mai 2012 gegründete TextGrid – Verein zum nachhaltigen Betrieb einer Virtuellen Forschungsumgebung in den Geisteswissenschaften e.V. bildet eine langfristige institutionelle Basis für den Dauerbetrieb.

Fachwissenschaftliche Nachhaltigkeit

Schulungen, Workshops und Veranstaltungen wie regelmäßige Nutzertreffen, Summits, Experten- und Strategiegespräche sowie der enge Austausch mit anderen Fachcommunities gewährleisten die Nachhaltigkeit der Forschungsumgebung auf fachwissenschaftlicher Ebene, für die die Umsetzung internationaler Standards u.a. in Markup-Formaten (XML/TEI) und Metadatenkonzepten eine weitere Grundlage bildet.

Technische Nachhaltigkeit

Die in TextGrid bereitgestellten Tools und Services sind so generalisiert, dass sie auch in verwandten geisteswissenschaftlichen Communities eingesetzt werden können. Externe, für die Integration in TextGrid optimierte Werkzeuge erweitern das Angebot, sodass zahlreiche typische Arbeitsabläufe in den Textwissenschaften in einer einzigen Umgebung durchführbar sind.